Words on this page


‘Bishop’ comes from the Greek word for ‘overseer’. So a bishop is a senior Christian minister authorised to have oversight for God’s people. As well as duties given to deacons and priests, bishops confirm and ordain.

Holy Communion

At Holy Communion blessed bread and wine is shared, by which we receive the body and blood of Jesus Christ. The congregation gives thanks for Jesus’ life, his death and resurrection and his continuing presence. See also Eucharist.

Home For clergy and members Ministry Areas For Attendees

For Attendees

Ministry Area Discussion Meetings

We are holding discussion meetings for each new Ministry Area to enable discourse between parishes and answer any questions on formation guidance.

All meetings will be attended by: Bishop Cherry, the relevant archdeacon, local licensed clergy and Isabel Thompson (Diocesan Secretary).

Each church is also invited to send up to 6 lay delegates.
All arrangements will be made through your Ministry Area Leader.

If you have any questions, please contact your cleric or Ministry Area Leader.

Please note:

Church delegate names can only be submitted through Ministry Area Leaders.

Discussion Meeting Dates

23rd February
- Gwent Valleys MA #5

24th February - Monmouth MA #4

25th February - Newport MA #5

3rd March - Monmouth MA #6

4th March - Newport MA #3

9th March - Gwent Valleys MA #3

10th March - Newport MA #2

11th March - Gwent Valleys MA #1

16th March - Gwent Valleys MA #2

17th March - Newport MA #1

18th March - Newport MA #4

13th April - Monmouth MA #1

15th April - Monmouth MA #2

20th April - Gwent Valleys MA #4

21st April - Monmouth MA #3

22nd April - Monmouth MA #5

For meeting attendees only

We invite all attendees to submit any questions which you would like addressed by the panel during your Ministry Area’s discussion meeting through the relevant question form below:
All questions submitted at least one week in advance of the meeting will be answered by the panel.

Gwent Valleys Ministry Areas

Gwent Valleys MA #1: Submit Question
  • Lower Islwyn (Risca, Newbridge, Cwmcarn and Abercarn) (St Margaret, St Mary, St Luke, St Paul, St Peter)
  • Upper Islwyn (Blackwood, Fleur de Lis, Mynyddislwyn) (St Augustine, St Tudor, St Theodore, St Davids Oakdale, St Davids Fleur de Lis, St Thomas, St Margaret)

Gwent Valleys MA #2: Submit Question
  • Bedwellty (St Dingat, St Peter, St Sannan)
  • Rhymney (St David, St Paul)
  • Tredegar St George & St James (St George)

Gwent Valleys MA #3: Submit Question
  • Llanfrechfa (All Saints)
  • Cwmbran and Pontnewydd (St Gabriel, St Mary, St Michael, St Peter, Holy Trinity, Henllys Worship Centre)
Gwent Valleys MA #4: Submit Question
  • Blaenavon (St Paul, St Peter)
  • Abertillery (St Michael)
  • Cwmtillery (St Paul) Llanhilleth (St Mark)
  • Six Bells (St John)
  • Upper Ebbw Valleys Benefice (St Peter, St David, St Paul, Holy Trinity & St Anne, Christchurch)

Gwent Valleys MA #5: Submit Question
  • Mid-Torfaen (Griffithstown, Panteg, Llanvihangel Pontymoile, Pontypool) (St Hilda, St Oswald, St Mary, St Michael, St Cadoc, St John, St Matthew)

Monmouth Ministry Areas

Monmouth MA #1: Submit Question
  • Abergavenny (St Mary, Christchurch)
  • Llanwenarth (St Peter)
  • Abergavenny (Holy Trinity)
  • Govilon (Christchurch)
  • Llanfoist (St Ffwyst) Llanelen (St Helen)

Monmouth MA #2: Submit Question
  • Llantilio Pertholey (St Teilo, Bettws Chapel)
  • Llanfihangel Crucorney Group (United Parish of Crucorney) (St David, St Martin, St Michael)
  • Grosmont (St Nicholas)
  • Skenfrith (St Bride)
  • Llanfair (St Mary)
  • Llangattock Lingoed (St Cadoc)
  • Llanaddewi Rydderch (St David)
  • Llanarth & Llansantfraed (St Bridget)
  • Llangattock - j - Usk (St Cadoc)
  • Llantilio Crossenny (St Teilo)
  • Penrhos (St Cadoc)
  • Llanvetherine (St James the Elder)
  • Llanvapley (St Mable)
  • Llanddewi Skirrid (St David)

Monmouth MA #3: Submit Question
  • Dingestow (St Dingat)
  • Cwmcarvan (St Catwg)
  • Penyclawdd (St Martin)
  • Tregaer (St Mary)
  • Rockfield (St Cenhedlon)
  • St Maughan's & Llangattock - Vibon Avel (St Cadoc, St Meugan)
  • Llanvihangel-ystern-llewern (St Michael)
  • Monmouth (St Mary the Virgin)
  • Overmonnow (St Thomas)
  • Mitchel Troy (St Michael)
  • Wonastow (St Wonnow)
  • Llandogo (St Oudoceus)
  • Tintern (St Michael)
  • Llanishen (St Dennis)
  • Trellech Grange (Parish Church)
  • Llanfihangel-Tor-y-Mynydd (St Michael)
  • Llansoy (St Tysoi)
  • Trellech & Penallt (Old St Marys Church, St Nicholas)
Monmouth MA #4: Submit Question
  • Caerwent (St Stephen & St Tathan)
  • Llanvair Discoed (St Mary)
  • Penhow (St John the Baptist)
  • St Brides (St Bridget)
  • Llanvaches (St Dubritius)
  • Llandevaud (St Peter)
  • Caldicot (St Mary the Virgin, St Marys Portskewett, St Marys Rogiet)
  • Magor (Langstone Parish Church, St Cadwaladr, St Martin, St Mary Magdalene, St Marys Llanwern, St Marys Magor, St Marys Nash, St Marys Undy, St Marys Wilcrick, St Thomas)

Monmouth MA #5: Submit Question
  • Newchurch (St Peter)
  • Mathern (St Tewdric)
  • Mounton (St Andoenus)
  • St Pierre (St Peter)
  • Shirenewton (St Thomas a Becket)
  • Chepstow (St Mary, St Christopher)
  • St Arvans (St Arvan, St Mary)
  • Devauden (St James)
  • Itton (St Deiniol)
  • Kilgwrrwg (Holy Cross)

Monmouth MA #6: Submit Question
  • Bettws Newydd,Kemys Commander, Trostrey and Llanfihangel Gobion w Llanfair Kilgeddin (Bettws Newydd, All Saints, St David)
  • Raglan (St Cadoc)
  • Llandenny (St John the Apostle)
  • Bryngwyn (St Peter)
  • Goetre (St Peter)
  • Llanover (St Bartholomew)
  • Monkswood & Glascoed (St Matthew, St Michael)
  • Mamhilad (St Illtud)
  • Llangybi (Christchurch, St Cybi)
  • Llanbadoc (St Madoc)
  • Tredunnoc (St Andrew)
  • Llanhennock (St John)
  • Usk, Gwenhelog w Llangwm Uchaf and Llangwm Isaf, Gwernesney and Llangeview (St Mary)
  • Llantrisant & Llanllowell (St Peter, Paul & John)
  • Wolvesnewton (St Thomas a Becket)
  • Llandegfedd (St Tegfeth)

Newport Ministry Areas

Newport MA #1: Submit Question
  • Newport (St Mark)
  • Newport (All Saints)
  • Bettws (St David)
  • Newport (St Paul & St Stephen)
  • Malpas (St Mary)

Newport MA #2: Submit Question
  • Caerleon (St Cadoc)
  • Newport (Christchurch)
  • Newport (St Andrew & St Philip)
  • Maindee (St John the Evangelist, St Mary)
  • Newport (St Julian & St Aaron)
  • Newport (St Teilo)

Newport MA #3: Submit Question
  • Bedwas (St Barryg, St Thomas)
  • Rudry (St James)
  • Machen (St John, St Michael)
  • Michaelston-y-Fedw (St Michael)
  • Marshfield (St Mary)
  • St Brides (St Bridget)
Newport MA #4: Submit Question
  • Bassaleg (St Anne, St Basil, St John the Baptist)
  • The Gaer (St Martin)
  • Newport (St John the Baptist)
  • Maesglas (St Thomas)

Newport MA #5: Submit Question
  • Cyncoed (All Saints, St Edeyrn, All Saints, St David, Pontprennau)
  • Llanrumney (St Dyfrig)
  • Rumney (St Augustine)
  • St Mellons (St Mellon)