Diocesan press releases

Election of the next Bishop of Monmouth

The election of the next Bishop of Monmouth will be held in September. Newport Cathedral will be closed and locked on September 17 as an Electoral College of people drawn from all over Wales, will meet inside to nominate and then vote on a confidential list of candidates.

 The meeting of the College follows the recent retirement of Bishop Richard Pain, who served as Bishop of Monmouth for nearly six years. The new bishop will be the 11th Bishop of the Diocese of Monmouth, an area covering the south-east corner of Wales to the border with England.

 The Electoral College will have up to three days to reach a decision. If an election is made, the Archbishop of Wales, John Davies, will unlock and open the west door of the Cathedral and formally announce the name of the Bishop-Elect.

 The College is made up of 47 people representing all six Welsh dioceses: the “home” diocese is represented by six lay people and six clergy, and the other five dioceses by three lay people and three clergy each, plus the five remaining Bishops.

 Its discussions are confidential, with candidates for election being nominated at the meeting, discussed and voted on by secret ballot, and there can be a number of cycles of nomination, discussion and voting. A candidate receiving two-thirds of the votes in a ballot of those present is declared to be the Bishop-Elect. Should the College fail to elect, the decision will pass to the Bench of Bishops.

 Once a bishop is elected, he or she will have up to 28 days to accept or decline the position. If they accept, the election will be formally confirmed by the Archbishop at a Sacred Synod service held shortly afterwards.

 The meeting, on September 17, will begin with a celebration of the Holy Eucharist at the Cathedral to which anyone is welcome. Following that the Electoral College goes into its private session with the Cathedral locked.  

* The Bishop’s profile will be published on the website once it has been agreed by members of the Electoral College *