Diocesan press releases

New Holywell members commissioned

Friends, family and dignitaries packed into St Mary’s Priory in Abergavenny to celebrate the Holywell Commissioning Service.

Now in its fourth year, the Holywell monastic community welcomed Sr Joanna Hollins who was commissioned as a Lay Member of the community alongside Jennii Shaw, who was re-commissioned for a second year. Fr Tom Bates was admitted as acting Sub Prior, prior to his formal licensing in October.

The Bishop of Monmouth, Sisters from Ty Mawr Convent, the High Sheriff of Gwent, the Chairman of Monmouthshire County Council and the Mayoress of Abergavenny all attended the special service.

The Holywell Community is a Monastic Community n Abergavenny living by the spirit of the Rule of St Benedict, almost 500 years after the original monks left St Mary’s Priory.

Having heard a portion of the Rule of St Benedict read to them by the Prior, Canon Fr Mark Soady, Bishop Richard placed the Community Pectoral Cross around the neck of each one of the Community in turn.

Earlier, the founder Concentor returned his pectoral cross and was admitted as an Associate Member of the Community. Br Simon acted as Sub Deacon of the Mass and read the Epistle on which the Bishop’s Sermon was based. (You can read the Bishop’s address here.) The Old Testament lesson was read by Associate Member David Fraser.  Sr Joanna’s family presented the gifts at the Offertory.  Fr Jeff Pearse, Assistant Curate Deaconed the Mass.

The Service was followed with Lunch on the Prior’s Lawn.